Tulane Outstanding Social Entrepreneur of the Year Award

Stephanie and David Barksdale with Dean Solomon and President Fitz

The 2019 Tulane Outstanding Social Entrepreneurs of the Year: Stephanie and David Barksdale

This award honors individuals who have attained notable success in developing, promoting, and sustaining initiatives that benefit and strengthen the social foundation of our community. 



  • 2018: Ms. Sandy Rosenthal
  • 2017: Mr. Steve Gleason
  • 2016: Ms. Caroline Roemer
  • 2015: Chef John Besh, Founder of the John Besh Foundation
  • 2014: Mr. Stan and Mrs. Dana Day, Founders of The New Day Challenge
  • 2013: Dr. John B. Elstrott, Former Executive Director of the Levy-Rosenblum Institute
  • 2012: Mr. Jay Altman of FirstLine Schools
  • 2011: Mrs. Phyllis Cassidy of Good Work Network
  • 2010: Ms. Kathryn Hall-Trujillo of the Birthing Project
  • 2009: SENO (Social Entrepreneurs of New Orleans)
  • 2008: Mr. Alan Houston of the Alan Houston Foundation
  • 2007: Mr. George Cloutier of American Management Services
  • 2005: Ms. Charlotte C. Cunliffe of Greater N.O. Data Center
  • 2004: Ms. Laura Maloney of the Louisiana S.P.C.A
  • 2003: Ms. Lauren Anderson of Neighborhood Housing Services of N.O.
  • 2002: Ms. Lina Alfieri Stern of IDA Collaborative of Louisiana