Pierre ConnerPierre Conner
Executive Director, Tulane Energy Institute, and Professor of Practice

Pierre Conner is the Executive Director of the Tulane Energy Institute, which oversees energy-related academic programs for careers in the energy industry and related banking, consulting, financial, technology and trading firms.

Conner brings nearly 40 years of experience in energy operations and finance to the Freeman School. Prior to joining Freeman, he was the President of Capital One Securities, an energy equity boutique investment banking subsidiary of Capital One Financial Corporation. Early in his career, he joined Southcoast Capital as an energy analyst and rose through the organization to Head of Equity Sales Research and Trading, researching and analyzing hundreds of energy companies along the way and guiding the organization through multiple acquisitions and expanding capital markets services.

Prior to his move to capital markets, Conner was engineering manager for Exxon’s Domestic Drilling Organization. He was engaged in operations from the Gulf of Mexico to offshore California to the North Slope of Alaska, and he worked on the Exxon Mobil merger.

Conner is also a Professor of Practice in Management Science. He teaches Energy Markets, Economics and Policy to undergraduates and Energy Projects to graduate students in the Master of Management in Energy program.


Eric SmithEric Smith
Associate Director, Tulane Energy Institute, and Professor of Practice

As Associate Director of the Tulane Energy Institute, Eric Smith draws on 36 years of experience in the petrochemical industry and in the international offshore drilling and construction sectors.

A respected authority on energy-related issues, he responds to local and national media on energy-related questions, providing market analysis and economic research on a variety of issues affecting the energy sector, and he presents his research nationally and internationally. In addition, he teaches in the Master of Management in Energy program and in the energy specialization for undergraduate students.

He is the Energy Committee chairman for the World Trade Center of New Orleans and has served as a consultant to Louisiana’s Department of Economic Development and to Greater New Orleans, Inc. In addition, he has served on the city’s energy advisory board to assist with improving the efficiency of electric power generation and distribution.

Advisory Board

The Tulane Energy Institute Advisory Board is an outstanding group of individuals that assists the institute in fulfilling its mission and achieving its goals.


Sam Arnold
Co-Founder and COO, CarbonPath

Laura Beauchamp
Director of Resource Planning and Market Operations, Entergy Louisiana

Jim Bertrand
Partner, Stinson Leonard Street LLP

Allan Bradley
President and CEO, Questar Pipeline and
Executive Vice President, Questar Corporation (retired)

Millie Bradley
General Auditor, ExxonMobil Corporation (retired)

John Bretz
Self Employed

Jim Burke
President and CEO, Vistra Energy

Grace Cammack
Project Developer, Engie North America Inc.

Marshall Carver
Adjunct Lecturer, Tulane University

Bryan Dutt
Managing Partner, Ironman Energy Capital

Monte Elliff
Managing Director, Citigroup

Claire Gotham
VP Utilities, Capgemini

Steve Hall
Region Vice President, Keane Group

William Hammarstrom
General Manager, Tonnage Gases, Air Products and Chemicals, Inc. (retired)

Hooper Harris
President, HH Risk Control, LLC

Michael A. (Casey) Herman
Partner, US ESG Leader, Pricewaterhouse Coopers LLP

Sally Hopkins
Global Senior Executive/ Advisor / Consultant/ Large Scale Business Performance and Organizational Improvement Architect

Steven Jones
Co-Chief Executive Officer & Chief Financial Officer, WaterBridge Resources

R. Paul Loveless
President & CEO, Continental Land & Fur. Co., Inc.

James Martin
CEO, Gulf Wind Technology

Pierre Moses
President, 127 Energy

Robert O'Neill
Project Control Specialist, NextEra Energy Resources

Darren Olagues
Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer, GenOn

Jeff Parker
Vice Chairman and Manager of Brokerage, Trust and Wealth Management IberiaBank

John Raymond
Managing Partner and CEO, The Energy and Minerals Group

Austin Scheffy
Chief Investment Officer, Heelstone Renewable Energy, LLC

Daniel Shantz
Entergy Chair of Clean Energy Engineering
Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, Tulane University

Scott Simmons
CFO and Senior Vice President, Whitewater Midstream

Oluwafunmilola (Lola) Soniregun
Financial Trader, NextEra Energy